Light is the Symbol of Truth

During a “Light Is the Symbol of Truth” ceremony held on April 25 in the Hampton Bays High School auditorium, 28 of Hampton Bays High School’s outstanding scholars were inducted into the National Honor Society.

This year’s inductees included Christen Bellucci, Stefanie Blanco, Bart Carey, Ryan Cavanaugh, Angie Delgado, Mia Fasanella, Austin Ferreira, Charlotte Forman, Daniella Greene, Jack Hilton, Erica Kane, Amanda Kenny, Victoria Laureano, Jordan Luna, Klaudia Maslowska, Gloriana Mejias, Carolyn Muller, Cody Nolan, Vanessa Parra Henao, Kasandra Phillips, Caleb Reed, Davianna Romer, Stephanie Salomon, Katie Sexton, Wayne Stanton, Darby Tupper, Michelle Vega and Leah Warren.

During the ceremony, those standout students who possess the five qualities of the National Honor Society — scholarship, leadership, character, citizenship and service — were recognized by their peers, Hampton Bays administrators, and family and friends. They were ushered into their induction by the club’s current members during a candle-lighting ceremony.

Class of 2013 salutatorian Jesse Dubrowsky and NHS inductee Christen Bellucci lit candles in recognition of scholarship, while Class of 2013 valedictorian Harry Fotopoulos and NHS inductee Daniella Greene lit those in recognition of leadership. Class of 2013 NHS members Colleen Lawrenz and Jennifer Linares, and new inductees Kasandra Phillips and Amanda Kenny, lit candles for service and character. Stefanie Blanco led the Pledge of Allegiance.

NHS adviser Katie Miedema gave the welcome speech and presented the new inductees, and Hampton Bays High School Principal Christopher Richardt and District Superintendent Lars Clemensen offered congratulatory remarks.