HBMS Inducts 43 into NJHS


On March 31, the Hampton Bays Middle School inducted 43 students into its chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. The National Junior Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for students.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative average of 92 or better. In addition, candidates must meet the high standards of leadership, service, citizenship, and character. Service and Leadership are based on the student’s participation in community or school activities.  Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics, and cooperation with both students and faculty. Citizenship is demonstrated by civic involvement.

“We are very proud to recognize these outstanding members of our student body. National Junior Honor Society members are chosen for and then expected to continue their exemplary contributions to the school and community,” said Mrs. Laurie O’Halloran, chapter advisor.

Congratulations to the following students for their induction: Nicholas Berglin, Jean Louise Catena, Ruth Darby, Adam Dean, Olivia DeBenedetto, Sean Deery, Alec Dubrowsky, Christine Dubrowsky, Taylor Dunn, Mackenzie Engeldrum, Jennifer Guevara, Emma Harris, Meghan Harris, Rebecca Harris, Lizvect Hernandez, Mary Kelly Hilton, Sarah Jiudice, Lisa Marie Kling, Dayna Kozofsky, Sabrina Kull, Giulia Leite, Alexandra Maitland-Ward, Zack Mangel, Cassandra McCuen, Noah Montague, Rachel Montgomery, Nikki Skye Nolan, Christian Nydegger, Hailey Oliver, Alyssa Ortiz, Samantha Pace, Alexander Papajohn, Alexandra Peterson, Andrea Pineda Figueroa, Victoria Reardon, Kara Rosante, Sara Schabe, Samantha Strand, Olivia Terry, Autumn Tlockowski, Cristina Torres, Tanner Troyan, and Robert Yates II.