Retirees Honored, Tenure Awarded at Hampton Bays

020-copy(3).jpg thumbnail4720
025-copy(3).jpg thumbnail4721

The end of school each June signifies the closing of the door on another year, but it also marks a series of beginnings. This year, new beginnings are at hand for Mike Terry and George Leeman, who have retired, and for seven teachers who received tenure during a recent Board of Education meeting.

Mr. Terry, the school’s audio visual technician, has worked for the district since 1976. Before becoming employed at Hampton Bays, he was a student, according to Mr. Clemensen, who announced during the school board meeting that Mr. Terry had been a Bayman for 50 years while the A/V man was applauded with a standing ovation.

Mr. Leeman, a past president of the Hampton Bays Board of Education and vice president for the 2010-2011 school year, had what Mr. Clemensen called the “hot seat” during the meeting, as he presided in Board President Doug Oakland’s stead that night. Mr. Leeman, who retired from 12 years of service on the board, also received a standing ovation for his years of dedication.

The seven teachers who received tenure during the last Board of Education meeting of the 2010-2011 school year included: Elementary School teachers Debra McDowell and Elizabeth Thorne; Middle School teachers Deanna Devon, Amanda Heenan and Moira Hays; and High School teachers Amy Stangasser and Charles Isgro.