Middle School Honor Society Induction


A total of 33 students were inducted into the 2010 Hampton Bays Middle School Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society at Hampton Bays Middle School.

The second annual candle-lighting induction ceremony was well attended by family and friends of the young community leaders. The same principles of the National Honor Society hold true for members of the Junior Honor Society, and all members must possess the five qualities of the society: knowledge, scholarship, leadership, service and character.

The new inductees, chosen for their merits, include: Kevin Agoglia, Christen Bellucci, Maria Brenes, Thomas Capuano, Bart Carey, Ryan Cavanaugh, Keith Davis, Mia Fasanella, Yoliana Gonzalez-Arias, Danielle Greene, Emma Henry, Amanda Kenny, Victoria Laureano, Ariel Levine, Cristal Martinez, Anyerlin Mora, Kimberly Mora, Carolyn Muller, Lauren Nielsen, Hadia Perez, Kansandra Phillips, Haily Reatherford, Mikela Ryan, James Sahin, Marissa Schultze, Katie Sexton, Wayne Stanton, Brianna Thompson, Darby Tupper, Michelle Vega, Leah Warren and Haley Wood.

“Congratulations on your milestone achievement,” National Junior Honor Society advisor Laurie O’Halloran said to the newly minted members. “We expect a lot of you.”

Outgoing District Superintendent Joanne Loewenthal also addressed the students. “You represent character, service and a lot of hard work. We are proud of you.”

Middle School Principal Lars Clemensen, who will replace Ms. Loewenthal soon, remarked that he and each of the 33 Junior Honor Society members were on a journey. “In 18 days, we will all move up to the Hampton Bays High School together,” he said, referencing his upcoming move to become the District Superintendent. “You have created new traditions, new rules and new expectations. You are responsible … to be a leader.”