skip to main content

Showcasing Sportsmanship

Varsity-Field-Hockey-copy.png thumbnail28413
The Hampton Bays School District congratulates the Hampton Bays High School varsity field hockey team and their coach, Samantha Spehler, for receiving the Marilyn Cross Sportsmanship Award. The Suffolk Field Hockey Umpires’ Association presented the award, which is given to only one varsity, junior varsity and middle school team in Suffolk County each year based on high marks for sportsmanship. Following each game, the referees rate the teams based on 10 different sportsmanship categories. The Hampton Bays team received the highest rating of all 37 varsity teams across the county.

Team members include: Kayla Church, Jeanette Darby, Vanessa Farrell, Rebecca Harris, Rachel Montgomery, Andrea Pineda, Isabella Quiros, Kara Rosante, Britney Schaube, Sara Schaube, Karla Solano, Jennifer Sullivan, Autumn Tlockowski, Ashlyn Von Bartheld and Jade Zaluski.